Local News

Sengezo Tshabangu Officially Appointed as Senator

Sengezo Tshabangu, the interim secretary general of the Citizens Coalition for Change, has officially been appointed as a senator, effective March 1st, 2024.

This announcement was made by Priscilla Chigumba, the chairperson of the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission, as published in yesterday’s government gazette. Tshabangu’s appointment comes as one of nine senators nominated to address vacancies resulting from the recall of CCC legislators last year.

In another story, CCC’s interim secretary general, Mr. Sengezo Tshabangu, alongside 13 others, are poised to take on roles as Senators and members of the National Assembly in the upcoming week. This follows confirmation by the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) of their status as legislators.

The newly appointed group is set to occupy vacant CCC seats in both the Senate and National Assembly, specifically designated for women, youth quotas, and party list seats in the Senate, previously held by recalled incumbents.

ALSO READ: Sengezo Tshabangu, CCC Members Set to Fill Vacant Seats in Zimbabwe’s Parliament

ZEC’s publication of their names in the Government Gazette solidifies their status as legislators, effective immediately. Their swearing-in is scheduled for the next parliamentary session.

ZEC Chairperson, Justice Priscilla Chigumba, announced the appointments in accordance with the Electoral Act, noting the specified individuals nominated by the CCC to fill Senate vacancies.

Among the appointments, Lilian Mlilo, Kucaca Ivumile Phulu, Linda Sibanda, and Collet Ndlovu are nominated for Senate positions in Bulawayo, while Maxwell Mdhluri and Sam Chapfudza are appointed for Manicaland and Masvingo provinces, respectively. Teresa Kabondo, Sengezo Tshabangu, and Grace Mumpande will fill vacancies in Matabeleland North.

These appointments follow the recall of previous incumbents, including Hellen Zivira, Gideon Shoko, Siphiwe Ncube, Felix Magalela Sibanda, David Antony Chimhini, Godfrey Mativenga Madzikanda, Anastasia Moyo, Gabbuza Joel Gabuza, and Tendai Sibanda….read in full

Related Articles

Back to top button