Bosso 90 for Orlando Pirates invitational tournament

HIGHLANDERS developmental side – Bosso 90 – are set to take part in the 2022 Orlando Pirates Cup set for Johannesburg starting today (Friday).

The team left Bulawayo for South Africa by road on Thursday morning.

The invitational tourney involves 56 teams that were drawn into 14 groups and ends on 18 April.

Bosso 90 are the only team from outside South Africa and are in group H with Total Football, TT United FC and Siwengu Double Classic.

The tourney returns for the first time since 2019, and has served as a springboard to greater honours for some of South Africa’s brightest young talents.

Tournament hosts, Orlando Pirates Under-21’s were drawn in Group A, where they will lock horns with Unite Africa Development, Socca Dream and Young Boys FC.

Other familiar names that will be on show over the Easter weekend include TS Galaxy, TUKS, and Black Leopards Development, who have all entered their youth teams in the tournament.

The group stages are scheduled to take place across the opening two days of the tournament before the knockout rounds, including the final, take centre stage on the closing day.


Group A

Orlando Pirates
Unite Africa Development
Socca Dream
Young Boys FC

Group B

Turfloop FC
Ikemereng FC
Tammy Tigers
Warriors FC

Group C

Thunderstorm Amaro Youth Development
Celta Vigor
KVK Academy

Group D

University of Johannesburg
Alexico Football Club
Killarney Motswako
Hungry Lion Juniors

Group E

TS Galaxy
Amahle FC
Balderstone Sports Institute
Soweto United Academy FC

Group F

Ambassadors F
Wolfs FC
Umlazi Happy Heart FC
NWU Vaal

Group G

Dube Continental FC
Randburg FC
Newden FC
Hyenas United FC

Group H

Bosso 90 FC
Total Football
TT United FC
Siwengu Double Classic

Group I

JDR Stars
Indlovu FC
Platinum City Rovers
Prestige Football Development

Group J

Neasm Academy of Sports
Debunkers FC

Group K

SAFA School of Excellence
TVT Sports Organisation
Diepkloof Diplomats
Brits United FC

Group L

Black Leopards Development
Real Msinga FC
Eastrand Academy
Phiri Movers FC

Group M

Wits Junior
Limpopo School of Excellence
Klarinet Dortmund
Manniken Football Academy

Group N

Vhembe 5R cooliozil FC
Euphoria United FC
Smart Boys FC


Poptain fails to turn up for SA show