Sengezo Tshabangu, CCC Members Set to Fill Vacant Seats in Zimbabwe’s Parliament

CCC’s interim secretary general, Mr. Sengezo Tshabangu, alongside 13 others, are poised to take on roles as Senators and members of the National Assembly in the upcoming week. This follows confirmation by the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) of their status as legislators.

The newly appointed group is set to occupy vacant CCC seats in both the Senate and National Assembly, specifically designated for women, youth quotas, and party list seats in the Senate, previously held by recalled incumbents.

ZEC’s publication of their names in the Government Gazette solidifies their status as legislators, effective immediately. Their swearing-in is scheduled for the next parliamentary session.

ZEC Chairperson, Justice Priscilla Chigumba, announced the appointments in accordance with the Electoral Act, noting the specified individuals nominated by the CCC to fill Senate vacancies.

ALSO READ: Mayor David Coltart Urges

Among the appointments, Lilian Mlilo, Kucaca Ivumile Phulu, Linda Sibanda, and Collet Ndlovu are nominated for Senate positions in Bulawayo, while Maxwell Mdhluri and Sam Chapfudza are appointed for Manicaland and Masvingo provinces, respectively. Teresa Kabondo, Sengezo Tshabangu, and Grace Mumpande will fill vacancies in Matabeleland North.

These appointments follow the recall of previous incumbents, including Hellen Zivira, Gideon Shoko, Siphiwe Ncube, Felix Magalela Sibanda, David Antony Chimhini, Godfrey Mativenga Madzikanda, Anastasia Moyo, Gabbuza Joel Gabuza, and Tendai Sibanda.

For the National Assembly, Nomvula Mguni, Otilia Sibanda, Lungile Ncube, Sibongile Maphosa, and Sikhuphukile Dube are nominated to fill CCC women’s quota seats.

The vacancies were initiated when Mr. Tshabangu communicated the recall of legislators to the Speaker of the National Assembly and Senate president. While by-elections were triggered for elected representatives, replacements for party list seats are appointed directly by the CCC, as per ZEC’s guidelines.

Initially, objections to CCC nominees were invited by ZEC, but no challenges were raised within the stipulated period.

Related Articles

Back to top button